Gamebuino Music Tracker

Advice on general approaches or feasibility and discussions about game design

Gamebuino Music Tracker

Postby Myndale » Sat Jan 10, 2015 8:26 am

Hi everyone,

I've started work on a music tracker for Gamebuino, now that the the holiday break is over I'll be resuming that development in earnest. While I have the technical ability to develop the software itself I have no experience and/or talent with actual chip tunes composition whatsoever. Cyberic and "The Other Days" have kindly offered to help with the design side but I'll be posting updates here as I progress and as always would appreciate any feedback and suggestions.

The GitHub repository for this project is here: https://github.com/Myndale/GBT

The project is being developed in WPF/MVVM (.NET 4.5), the basic architecture is in place and I've just started doing some tests with the pattern editor. Conceptually I was thinking of doing something like this:

The idea is that you can drag instruments and patterns from the tree control on the left into the panels in the main editor pane, but I'm not 100% dead-set on doing it like this if anyone thinks there's a better way. The big question mark in my mind is the effects pane on the far right....my memory of trackers dates back to the 90s and I seem to recall them having one effect per channel per row, whereas the Gamebuino music playback code allows for an arbitrary number of effects.

With respect to scheduling my aim is to get a very basic editor up and running as quickly as possible and then start building upon that. First pass will probably therefore be a single pattern editor with in-tracker playback and C code export.
Myndale

Re: Gamebuino Music Tracker

Postby Drakker » Sat Jan 10, 2015 12:48 pm