[Solved]Logo at the title screen

Understanding the language, error messages, etc.

[Solved]Logo at the title screen

Postby Skyrunner65 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:56 am

Where and how do I put the logo onto the title screen?
Right now I am trying to make "Slasher" (you play as a murderer[using Rodot's physics engine as the base]), and I already have a logo 32x32, but I don't know where to put the logo (converted using your lovely java tool).
Last edited by Skyrunner65 on Thu Aug 14, 2014 6:20 pm, edited 8 times in total.
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Logo at the title screen

Postby Matrix828 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:58 am

Just use

Code: Select all
gb.titleScreen(F("NAME"), logo);


:D

EDIT: A bloody knife logo? I'm intrigued :)
Matrix828
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:44 pm

Re: Logo at the title screen

Postby Skyrunner65 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:36 am

Where and how do I put the logo onto the title screen?
Right now I am trying to make "Slasher" (you play as a murderer[using Rodot's physics engine as the base]), and I already have a logo 32x32, but I don't know where to put the logo (converted using your lovely java tool).
Code: Select all
const byte myBitmap[] PROGMEM = {32,32,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B00010000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B00101000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B01011000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B11011000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000001,B00111000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000010,B11111000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000101,B10101000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00001001,B10101100,
B00000000,B00000000,B00010101,B01011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B00110010,B01011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B01010010,B10011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B10000110,B10000000,
B00000000,B00000001,B00001111,B00000000,
B00000000,B00000010,B00001001,B00000000,
B00000000,B00000100,B00000010,B01001100,
B00000000,B00001000,B00000100,B00000100,
B00000000,B00010000,B00001000,B01000110,
B00000000,B00100000,B00010011,B00000010,
B00000000,B01000000,B00100001,B01000000,
B00000000,B10000000,B01000001,B01001000,
B00000001,B00000001,B10000001,B01100100,
B00000010,B00000110,B00000000,B00100100,
B00000100,B00011000,B00000000,B00000000,
B00001100,B01100000,B00000000,B00000000,
B00010011,B10000000,B00000000,B01001000,
B00100010,B00000000,B00000000,B01001000,
B01000100,B00000000,B00000000,B01001000,
B01001000,B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,
B01010000,B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,
B01100000,B00000000,B00000000,B00011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B10001000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,
};
Last edited by Skyrunner65 on Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:46 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Logo at the title screen

Postby Skyrunner65 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 2:45 am

How would I put it there?
Would it be like this:
Code: Select all
gb.titleScreen(F("Slasher"), const byte machete[] PROGMEM = {
   the logo stuff
});


This:
Code: Select all
gb.titleScreen(F("Slasher"), {
   the logo stuff
});


Or this:
Code: Select all
gb.titleScreen(F("Slasher"),
   the logo stuff
);
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Logo at the title screen

Postby Skyrunner65 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 3:21 am

Got some concept art for Alfred:
Alfred_big.png
Alfred_big.png (290 Bytes) Viewed 4807 times


His left arm turned out weird, but it's good for 16x16(I'd like him to be smaller, though).
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: Logo at the title screen

Postby qubist » Thu Aug 14, 2014 4:41 am

The "logo" part of "gb.titleScreen(F("NAME"), logo);" is the name of the image you are using. You can just do

Code: Select all
gb.titleScreen(F("Slasher"), logo);


as long as you've done

Code: Select all
 const byte logo[] PROGMEM = {32,32,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B00010000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B00101000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B01011000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B11011000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000001,B00111000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000010,B11111000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000101,B10101000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00001001,B10101100,
B00000000,B00000000,B00010101,B01011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B00110010,B01011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B01010010,B10011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B10000110,B10000000,
B00000000,B00000001,B00001111,B00000000,
B00000000,B00000010,B00001001,B00000000,
B00000000,B00000100,B00000010,B01001100,
B00000000,B00001000,B00000100,B00000100,
B00000000,B00010000,B00001000,B01000110,
B00000000,B00100000,B00010011,B00000010,
B00000000,B01000000,B00100001,B01000000,
B00000000,B10000000,B01000001,B01001000,
B00000001,B00000001,B10000001,B01100100,
B00000010,B00000110,B00000000,B00100100,
B00000100,B00011000,B00000000,B00000000,
B00001100,B01100000,B00000000,B00000000,
B00010011,B10000000,B00000000,B01001000,
B00100010,B00000000,B00000000,B01001000,
B01000100,B00000000,B00000000,B01001000,
B01001000,B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,
B01010000,B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,
B01100000,B00000000,B00000000,B00011100,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B10001000,
B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,B00000000,
};


beforehand. The word "logo" can be whatever you like as long as it is the same when you define it and when you use it.
User avatar
qubist
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Mar 27, 2014 1:58 am
Location: USA

Re: Logo at the title screen

Postby Skyrunner65 » Thu Aug 14, 2014 5:55 pm

Thank you qubist, that was very helpful.
Is there anyway to separate the knife into another sprite and make it follow the player sprite(in his hands)? That would make it so the player would get hurt if a cop touches him, but not if the knife does.
My idea for slashing, presented logically:
When button "A" is pressed, Player's X velocity increases by 0.5 and the variable "Attacking" changes to 1. Next, player's sprite changes through slashing 1 - 3, while knife's sprite changes to knife 1 - 3.Finally,"Attacking" is set back to 0, and the sprites return to normal.
But if variable "Attacking" =1, then no player input will be acknowledged.

If this is possible, that would be great. I will try, but if you guys have an idea, go ahead and say it.
User avatar
Skyrunner65
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: NC,USA

Re: [Solved]Logo at the title screen

Postby 94k » Sun Aug 17, 2014 3:21 pm

You can use two sprites and simply draw them over each other. usually you'd use a offset from the player position to draw the knife. I'd recommend you to use a "hitbox" that doesn't rely on your sprite size, that way you seperate the drawing and the game mechanics, which is always a good idea (you are less likely to get hard to fix bugs and you're more flexible when you want to change something).
User avatar
94k
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 9:41 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Programming Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 71 guests